Lille Mogli och Kungsfiskaren

 Here is an attempt to tell a childhood memory in Swedish.

När jag var runt sex år gammal, stötte jag på en sårad liten kungsfiskare på vägen hem från skolan. Stackaren sköts på bröstkorgen, antagligen med en luftpistol. Jag plockade den upp, och skyndade mig hem.

Såret var täckt med jord och lilla fågelns rufsiga fjäder var blöt upp i sin egna blod. Då bestämde mig att först tvätta fågelns hela kropp med ljumt vatten innan jag förse såret med bandage.

Jag hittade en gammal mjölk kanna och kokade vatten i den genom att göra en provisorisk ugn av tre stora stenar där brände jag en last av torkat mango löv. När vattnet blev tillräckligt varmt, tvättade jag fågeln.

När skulle jag förse såret med bandage, märkte jag att lilla kungfiskaren börja rysa av köld. Då tänkte jag att jag behöver torka dess fjäder så snabbt som möjligt genom att ge den värme. Och så täckte jag fågeln med halva av en kokosnötsskal och lägga den under den glödande middagens sol. Jag hoppades verkligen att fjädrarna skulle torka snabbare och den stackars varelsen kommer att må bra igen.    

Jag kände mig riktigt stolt av mig själv för jag gjorde allting alldelles själv på rättvis sätt, tänkte jag. Till en timme senare när jag lyft upp kokosnötsskalen avslöjades till min lilla förstånd hur den en gång färglad kungsfiskare blev en styv kadaver.   
 
Och jag gråt och gråt och gråt. 

*******

Below is the English version, in case you just got confused by my Swedish. I translated it with the help of this nice online dictionary from KTH.

When I was six or so, I stumbled upon a wounded little kingfisher on my way home from school. The poor thing was shot on the chest, most probably with an airgun. I picked it up, and hurriedly walked home.The wound was soiled and the bird’s ruffled feathers was soaked in its own blood. I thought I should clean the wound first before dressing it, and so I decided to give it a warm bath. I found an old milk can and cooked some water on a makeshift stove of three large stones and loads of dried mango leaves. Then, I gave the bird a bath with some lukewarm water. As I was dressing the wound, the bird started to shiver. I figured I needed to dry its feathers as quickly as possible, by giving it warmth. And so I covered the kingfisher with half of a coconut shell and put it under the noon sun, hoping the feathers would dry faster and that the poor creature would feel better again. I was so proud of myself for having done all those things just by myself. Until an hour later, when upon lifting the coconut shell, revealed to my tiny mind the horror of seeing a stiff cadaver of a once colourful kingfisher. And I cried and cried and cried.  

About metromogli

MOGLi - A Brown in the Land of the Blues and Blondes
This entry was posted in mogLi, personal, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lille Mogli och Kungsfiskaren

  1. Anonym says:

    AAAhhh, that’s very touching. A very sweet thought of saving a life but the reality, the bitter truth that one can’t do everything ,maybe even nothing. Touched me. But a question can be raised, if you are a person that eats flesh, why would this blogg touch you????

  2. Mim says:

    Ah… that poor little thing…Quite good translation, I have seen translations that are really crappy (see for example avigsidan.com), but I guess it helps a lot if you have some knowledge of the language you are translating into, which I know you do.Thanks for the link, I will add you too so I don’t have to scroll down on my comments to find you :-DNighty night!

  3. Anonymous says:

    OO what a nice blog you have!! Ok I know that probably everybody thinks their moms are the most annoying but mine really is.. And it is not because she is like other mothers ,, it’s kind of because she is not.. She is so like a child.. ooo you have my blog on your site nice =) Where are you from by the way?

  4. Annelie says:

    That´s so sweet – and so sad! But it shows a good heart!

  5. Angelica says:

    Saving a life is a great thing, even though it’s a bird or any kind of animal and saving life makes you a respectable person. There should be more people like you!

Leave a comment